One of the issues I’ve had with IDPA that isn’t addressed by the new rulebook is the “reloading behind cover”. IDPA clearly stipulates that all reloads must begin and end “behind cover”, an even specifies that cover means that 50% of your torso must be concealed from the target to be “behind cover”. Here’s my question, and to do it I’ll give you a scenario from a match.
Start at Position 1, in the open. You have two targets in the open that you must engage on your way to Position 2. Other than the two targets in the open, you are not exposed to any targets during the movement from P1 to P2, and are not exposed to any targets at P2 until you start slicing the pie.
Based on my understanding of IDPA’s rules, once the two targets in the open are neutralized (shot), then you would be considered “behind cover” as you are not visible to any threat targets at the time. The way I understand “cover” is that it doesn’t matter if already engaged targets can see you, because they’re shot up anyway. So in my situation above, say that after you shot the first two targets you had to engage 5 more targets (making this a 14 round stage). I would do a reload with retention after engaging the first two targets on my way to P2 so I had a fully charged gun to finish the COF. I figure that I’m behind cover the whole time since no un-engaged targets can see me.
This is one thing that I do wish that IDPA would clear up with the next rules update – it seems logical to me, but I have seen safety officers say that you’re not behind cover unless you’re hugging the available barricade.
What say my IDPA guys out there?